184. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – “Henry’s Dream”

In a case for any buddy Sherlocks out there, this particular album was unexpectedly absent from my CD collection back when I was deeply immersed in Cave reviews. 

Album Cover Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds Henry's DreamOn the urging of a regular reader (Unrelenting Tedium, are you still out there?), I sought a replacement copy and have been relishing each listen ever since.

I am seriously torn in my ranking of Cave opuses.  Three of his albums currently occupy my Top 20, with Let Love In out in front.

My strongest basis for favouring said album was its astoundingly strong opening trio of tracks.  But, then, this CD has an even more impressive triptych. 

The epic Papa Won’t Leave You Henry is captivating with swirling, rousing choruses.  The organ and virtual call-and-response of I Had a Dream Joemaintains the momentum, while the lusciousness of the softer Straight to You presages his later work on Boatman’s Call.  

What lifts this album above its esteemed peers is that the quality never drops.  There isn’t a track on this release which would be out of place on a Bad Seeds best of. The album isn’t quite as wild or aggressive as his live work of the time or Tender Prey, but it is wonderfully balanced and engaging.  

File under: A dream weaver

2 responses to “184. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – “Henry’s Dream”

  1. Unrelenting Tedium

    I am..and I am very glad you reviewed this one. Definitely my fav particularly for the opening three but Let Love In is a cracker. My apologies for the lack of comments but my RSS reader has corrupted itself s so I have to hunt you rather than have you come to me….this is the most boring comment on any blog anywhere ever. Keep up the good work.

  2. Love, love, love this album. BTW there is a fab Nick Cave exhibition at the National Library – worth a visit :)

Leave a Reply

