349. Grandview – “Room 15″

Sometimes the obscurity of some CDs in my collection makes me want to cry.

This may well be the perfect case in point. This little collection of sweet ditties gets very frequent airplay in our house, but has dropped off the musical radar otherwise (I can find not a single sample song for you guys to drool over anywhere on the Interwebs).

This duo popped into my world one day at the old Rob Roy hotel, playing support for some Candle band, and I was blown away. This is a hard reaction to acheive when you’re justtwo blokes on acoustic and steel guitars (and occasional harmonica) singing Simon & Garkfunkel-style harmonies, but that’s what Tim and Trent managed to do.

Tim I’ve reviewed before, while Trent was a Melnik I believe (so look out for a review of his back catalogue in about 2 years time!).

The album weaves a magical storyline of musicians seeking a better, more relaxing, and (dare I say it) harmonious life, and includes some outrageously touching and smirk-worthy lines (e.g. “spent half my savings drinking goodbye”).

This country-tinged gem warms my heart and lifts my spirits each and every time I spin it, and every person on Earth should own a copy.

Indeed, I am willing to part with a superfluous sampler version of this CD (which is in many ways better as it doesn’t include the couple of less-inspired tracks on here) to the person who leaves the most appealing comment over the next week – mailing cost free..

File under: A sweet suite

Leave a Reply

