529. Bob Marley – “Keep on Moving”

I never had a Bob Marley phase.  As a relatively straight-laced teen, I didn’t embrace the ganja, nor pretend to dig Jah.

And the only Haile Selassie I’ve ever worshiped had a ‘Gebre’ in his name and was renowned for his running track action.

So, I came to this CD from my wife’s deep, dark history with no reminiscence. And it’s a bit of a surprise.

The album contains none of the tracks I associate with the dreadlocked one.  Indeed, it’s not even as reggae as I expected.  Sure, there’s a bit of the swinging basslines, low tempo, and offbeat guitar rhythms.  And with the requisite drug references:

But vocally, Bob often also  veers into a more soulful space. And the album is all the better for it.  By playing in a genre I have more of a feel for, I have a much great appreciation of Mr Marley’s vocal capabilities and musical sensibilities.

And looking ahead I can see my next album is chockablock with the Marley standards.

File under: Sufficiently ambulatory

One response to “529. Bob Marley – “Keep on Moving”

  1. I still am going through a Bob Marley phase -I think I am one of 3 or 4 people that was a fan while he still was around—It saddens me that he is just an excuse to smoke weed today-he was a man of peace and a hero for the downtrodden.

Leave a Reply

