150. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – “Nocturama”

I know I committed to around 200 words per review, but I feel like writing “see last review” on this one (or just “ditto”).

Album Cover Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds NocturamaAfter giving this album several listens, I can find little positive or constructive to say.

It’s just a bleh effort. The songwriting is uninspired. The musicianship is workmanlike (as an aside I’m no sure that phrase should be pejorative, but it is). There are no top notch songs.

At times the album even lacks Cave-ness. For example, the considerable portions of the pedestrian Bring it On could be any number of cookie-cutter adult-rockers (especially the chorus). At times, I had to convince myself it wasn’t Tex Perkins…

The aforementioned “several listens” reflected my relative unfamiliarity with this recording. I clearly wasn’t grabbed by this post-purchase. I’m still not.

The only fun aspect of this is the very self-indulgent almost fifteen minute closer Babe I’m on Fire, on which Nick plays out the stack-the-rhymes game to its ultimate end. My special edition of the album includes a DVD with the video for said song, which is ain’t too bad (and demonstrative of Cave’s underestimated sense of humour). Here it is (in two parts):

File under: Snooze-a-rama

One response to “150. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – “Nocturama”

  1. I think this is the only Nick Cave album that I haven’t listened to more than once or twice. Even No More Shall We Part has grown on me to some degree, but this one really is quite poor. Luckily his recent output (Abbatoir Blues/Lyre of Orpheus and Dig!! Lazarus, Dig!!, or however it’s punctuated, and Grinderman) shows he’s still got some skills.

Leave a Reply

