190. The Cranberries – “Everybody Else is Doing it, So Why Can’t we?”

This blogging/reviewing caper does throw up some surprises. I didn’t know we had any Cranberries CDs on the shelf (let alone the two I found).

Album Cover Cranberries Everybody Else is Doing it, So Why Can't weFear not, this isn’t a case of early-onset Alzheimer’s. I’m just unobservant. These recordings are presumably further gems from my missus’ enormous dowry of musical wonder.

Until now I had been pretty oblivious to the Cranberries phenomenon. Their various hits had never grabbed me, and I had dismissed them as some mongrel hybrid of Sinead O’Connor, Enya and The Corrs. The wavering vocals and grandiosity of it all were the drivers of that perception.

Well, this CD has cycled through a startling eleven times of the past couple of days (I’m a masochist).

There is nothing fundamentally annoying or aggravating about this collection. But nor is there anything that delights and engages me. The lead vocals from Dolores (has there ever been a less rock-n-roll frontperson moniker? Well, maybe Alice Cooper I guess), are the only thing that differentiates this from a million other wannabee U2s. And unfortunately they do eventually grate. The scale exploration is more distracting than enamouring. If I’m chasing breathy and ethereal, I’ll head for the Cocteau Twins‘ Liz Fraser (hmmm, another “C” I’m lacking).

File under: If you’re friends jumped off a cliff would you?

One response to “190. The Cranberries – “Everybody Else is Doing it, So Why Can’t we?”

  1. I used to go to school with a girl called Alice Cooper.

Leave a Reply

