214. Death Cab for Cutie – “We Have the Facts and We’re Voting Yes”

How appropriate that on the day of a ballot in Australia, I should review an album with “voting” in the title. Unlike today’s outcome (a shift to the crazy Christian right), there is much to like about the CD in question.

I think I picked this album up on a whim, having heard good things about the band in question, but being unfamiliar with their sound. I liked it from the first listen, and still take a lot of joy from it.  I struggle to explain why however.

DCFC are one of this bands that bridge the cerebral and the emotive.  They build an effective wave of guitar that sweeps you through track after track, driven by a hypnotic rhythm (think the under-rated Aussie soundscapers Gersey).

Meanwhile, the songs are verbose, laden with very literate and imposing content and vocab.  The vocals are  similar to Wayne Coyne of the Flaming Lips, but without the overt showmanship.

I must admit, however, that this album has always tended to wash over me, rather than directly engage.  I can happily loop it for hours on end, but still  struggle to distinguish one track from the next. The Shins do a better job of nailing the pop version of this.

File under: Worth my preference vote

One response to “214. Death Cab for Cutie – “We Have the Facts and We’re Voting Yes”

  1. I love the opening album of this album- it starts lo-fi and then wooosh- good production values shine through. A lovely album and maybe DCFC’s best.

Leave a Reply

