253. DJ Shadow – “The Private Press”

So I gave this album a spin while traipsing around the largest market I’ve ever seen (Chatuchak Market in Bangkok).

album cover dj shadow-the-private-pressIt worked perfectly as a buffer against any pleas of “try”, “cheap, cheap”, “love you long time” etc that might have been coming my way.

While I was still bombarded by a myriad of sights (and smells), DJ Shadow was soothing me with his (slightly) more gentle pastiche of sounds.

They were a perfect combination.  So much of what I was witnessing was an intersection of various worlds (East and West, traditional and modern, spiritual and consumerist).  And being Thailand, there was no shortage of “borrowed” ideas, and clever (although not always deliberate) reinterpretations of familiar designs.

That is very much were DJ Shadow is coming from – reshaping and reimagining sounds from across genres.

As an album this is more beat heavy and faster tempoed than its predecessor. But it is still more of a daytime headspace party than one you’d invite your friends along to.

I just learned that the most upbeat track on here was remixed for The Fast and Furious: Tokyo Drift, which featured the sort of driving I think most Bangkok residents would love to try if everyone else would just get off the roads:

File under: Join the Press Gang

2 responses to “253. DJ Shadow – “The Private Press”

  1. Stumbled across your page while thinking of doing a blog similar to yours. No way I could as well as you, and I love your review style. I already owned the “Entroducing” album and your review for “The Private Press” inspired me to get it… Fantastic album and fantastic blog.

Leave a Reply

