257. Drive-By Truckers – “Brighter Than Creation’s Dark”

Listening to this trio of releases from the DBTs has been a strange journey.

I was taken with the raucousness of album #1.  The MOR #2 was pretty hit and miss.  And this one is a curious middle ground.

The vibe is much more country than the predecessors – country of a mature, slow-paced nature. So we’re talking laments and tales of woe.

It doesn’t have the energy and aggression of #1, and I must say that was the DBT incarnation that got my blood flowing and my excitement levels up.  Instead of picturing them in a dangerous bar (with chicken-wire) belting it out with abandon, now I see me seated, slowly sipping a beer and swaying along on a wave of their luscious tunes and entertaining tales.

So, I’m pretty happy with this one.  Female lead vocals on three tracks is a nice addition, and it breaks up with it is a long albums (19 tracks in all).

If I’d never heard The Dirty South, I’d perhaps view this album as classic.  So, give it a listen.

File under: Not so bright I’d need shades

Leave a Reply

