261. Bob Dylan – “Blonde on Blonde”

OK, lest we have a repeat of the Beach Boys ‘to do’, I’ll come right out and declare my application for citizenship of Philistinia.

I’ve spent a day with one of Dylan’s purported classics and it has left me rather cold.

This is the album where he embraced electricity thus alienated a sizeable portion of the folk-Luddite community. 

I’ve always assumed this historical moment saw him laying down some meaty riffs and scaring wildlife.  The reality is just a little bit of amplification and a fuller sound.

Gone, however, is the humour, energy and exuberance of his previous effort. Sure the opening track (Rainy Day…) has the schoolyard entendre about getting stoned, and he gets all whacky mocking a Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat later on.

Outside of the brilliant Stuck Inside of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again I have never fallen for anything else on this album.  Bobby boy seems to have lost much of his idiosyncrasy and diversity.

I don’t want to give up on him, however.  Tell me fans, which of his albums should I chase up?  What will engage me as much as “Another side of…”?

File under: Diminishing blondes’ reputations for fun

3 responses to “261. Bob Dylan – “Blonde on Blonde”

  1. Not a big Dylan fan, and am actually inspired to try “Another Side of Bob Dylan” from your previous post.

    However, one album I like for his more recent stuff is “Love and Theft”. It is a fun album with a nice uptempo pace to it and great production despite what he thinks (he supposedly didn’t like the production). Out of the handful of albums I own by Dylan, it is my favorite.

  2. Must agree with the general apathy shown towards Dylan. Never really got him and it isn’t for a lack of trying. Maybe it is a result of clinging to the popularly defined “classics”.

    Then again, Bob Marley is also on my hitlist in terms of overratedness…

  3. I picked up a copy of highway 61 revisited by Dylan, and I liked it a lot. I always hated Dylan, but I liked this album quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

