284. Mark Eitzel – “West”

This review process throws up some strange revelations.  The one here was that for the past 10 years or more, I’ve thought I was listening to Mark Eitzel’s ’60 Watt Silver Lining’ album, when, in fact, the disk in the case was his follow up ‘West’. 

It shows that I never bothered to read the liner notes or match the songs to their titles.

It also somehow appropriate given I think I bought this (or the following one) on slightly false pretenses.  I’m pretty sure when I spied it in a second hand store that I had Eitzel confused with Screaming Trees frontman Mark Lanegan.

All up that could have been a recipe for disappointment.  But, having given this more than its usual cursory play, I must say I’m pretty happy with this one-time American Music Club lead singer.

He delivers a chilled out, one-man-and-his-guitar effort. He stays the right side of earnest, and swings back and forth between sounding like an acoustic Buffalo Tom and a not too plaintive Elvis Costello

There’s no one tune which had my screaming (or whispering “hell yeah”), but this is good Sunday arvo fare.

File under: Incognito no more

Leave a Reply

