335. The Be Good Tanyas – “Blue Horse”

Lest I get irreversibly immersed in the rather obscure Rockwiz category of “Aussie shoegazer output of the 1990s” I’ve decided to break up my reviews with a “B” that I missed on the way through.

This is the first of a couple of download only albums in my collection that I’d forgotten I “owned”. They’d been residing on old memory stick since my days in Denmark when I got a bit desperate for some new tunes and was gifted a couple of free albums from some site.

I lumped for these Canadian country lasses on the back of some name recall from RRR show Twang. This debut treads the lovely line between folk and country, features some sweet harmonies and a nice selection of originals and surprising covers.

On the covers front, they manage to breathe life into the potentially cheesy Oh Susanna and nail an Gaelic chestnut called Lakes Of Pontchartrain. The latter features brief member and now pretty successful soloist (and non-Canuck) Jolie Holland. She certainly has a luscious voice and can also pen a tune as she displays on the single:

This is a perfect slow-paced but upbeat album for warming up a chilly, wet afternoon, which is what it did regularly in Copenhagen and has achieved here in Melbourne today.

File under: Buck those blues

Leave a Reply

