339. The Glory Box – “This is the Glory Box Compilation”

I feel like Marty McFly (or Kylie Minogue) as I continue to step back in time.

This quintet was one of the first 5 or so bands I saw live around the Melbourne gig scene back in 1990 or thereabouts.

I’m not sure I ever deliberately sought them out. They were just a support band staple.

This compilation may well contain their signiature tunes, but I couldn’t pick any out in a police lineup (well, maybe the rather familiar end of House on the hill).

The vibe is decidedly dated, with that cavernous sound that seemed so arty and portentious back in the day. Coupled with fuzzbox guitar and overly annunciated vocals presumably intended to signify a literary bent, this does all feel rather derivative and forced.

There are bands who did this style better, and I don’t own many CDs by them.

File under: Covered in something, but it ain’t glory

Leave a Reply

