362. Various Artists – “Grease” (soundtrack)

Fingers were pointed and accusations flew across the breakfast table this morn when I found this album in our vinyl collection.

My missus vehemently denies bringing this double-record set into the home, but I am damn sure I didn’t buy it.  Irrespective of whether I’m right or she’s wrong, the album has been listened to repeatedly this afternoon.

Of course, most of these tunes are irrevocably etched in the skull of almost anyone born in the past 50 years. I actually saw the film at the cinema on first release around 1979 (not long after I saw Star Wars on the big screen).  I seem to remember thinking it was a little racy and that the music was loads of fun.

31 years later, listening to the 24 tracks with a reasonably open mind, and treating the album as a set of showtunes, I must say it’s a pretty solid album.  The stand-out tracks don’t feature the leads, but rather are tongue in cheek and a bit ‘adult’.

The future First Lady is suitably salacious and snide  on …Sandra Dee. Frankie Avalon is nasty on Beauty School Dropout.

The thrill for me has been reacquainting myself with the silliness that is retro-champs Sha Na Na. They cover ’50s classic with aplomb. I distinctly remember the primetime show from these guys (a sort of cross between Sesame Street, Young Talent Time and Laverne and Shirley).  I’d see them on stage before I’d bother with Grease:

File under: It’s the word

One response to “362. Various Artists – “Grease” (soundtrack)

  1. A word from the missus – I really didn’t buy this LP. But I do think every household needs a copy. Not only did I obsess about the movie, I danced to the songs at all my school socials and sang the megamix at karaoke regularly in my 20s. So I would say this soundtrack had a huge influence in my life. And I’d be surprised if anyone could say differently.

Leave a Reply

