364. Fugazi – “Instrument Soundtrack”

I’m working my way backwards through albums I missed along the way.  This one was overlooked among the Fs in my vinyl collection.

I was never cool or buff enough to embrace the world of Fugazi and the post-hardcore punk brethren.

I did enjoy their brutal take on rock whenever I encountered a clip of theirs on Rage or SBS, but at no point did I think ‘I need to pick me up one of the low-priced CDs’.

But, I did somehow end up buying this LP bundled with a doco of the band (on VHS no less – a rare pairing of defunct formats) at a Shock Records sale.

I did what the video at least once, and recall it as earnest, grainy but enlightening.  These guys clearly had/have a passion for playing loud and fast (and for scolding sweaty mosh pit aggressors).

This record is (not surprisingly) mainly vocal-less renditions and demos of what I guess might be their ‘hit’ tunes. It does reveal them to be highly competent at laying down some belting rhythms and nice licks. It is quite a groove they get up and this does work as great reading/office music (something I doubt they were aiming for). The vocal tracks tend towards the novelty and are less endearing.

I like this enough to think I should venture into their broader catalogue.

File under: More pleasure than torture

3 responses to “364. Fugazi – “Instrument Soundtrack”

  1. A great band. They don’t play particularly fast. They control the complete production of their music so they can keep the end price of their albums low (CDs could be found in JB for $16 when all others were at least $26). They tour a lot when active. Always play all ages shows where possible so the kids can go.

    Whilst not entering into one of those daft critiques of bands who “sell out” (whatever that means), I admire their turning down of multi-million dollar record deals in favour of running their own company (and not just as a branding exercise in front of a major label like so many other artist’s “own label”)

    And most importantly they never put out a dud album. Everything they put out has thought and meaning. Nothing flippant or glib. Plus awesome percussive guitar work.

    Buy lots and use many.

  2. So UT, what would you recommend as the #1 ‘must have’?

  3. Well as I say, I don’t think they have made a bad or even weak album. And this is always a tough question for a big fan, as the fav is usually not the crowd fav…so I shall try to be a dispassionate recommender.

    Repeater, the second album, was the one that brought them wider prominence. When they make top whatever album lists this is usually the one.

    Steady Diet Of Nothing, the third album, is the least “fast and loud” one. A classic by any reckoning and probably the one to go with.

    In On the Kill Taker, the fourth album, the loudest probably (it was released at the height of grunge and I am sure they would no doubt detest me questioning whether there wasn’t some influence).

    My favourite is Red Medicine, the fifth album.

    So I guess, Steady Diet Of Nothing.

    Thanks for asking.

Leave a Reply

