J = Just a sweet sixteen

J has flashed past me in a similar fashion to my youth, too fast but with little to really regret.

Here’s the top 10 albums from the 16 in this section of my collection:

  1. Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings – “Naturally”
  2. Janis Joplin – “Pearl”
  3. JaConfetti –“Rainbow Express”
  4. Junior Senior – “D-D-Don’t Don’t Stop the Beat”
  5. Robert Johnson – “King of the Delta Blues Singers”
  6. Jane’s Addiction – “Ritual De Lo Habitual”
  7. Syl Johnson – “The Complete Syl Johnson On Hi Records”
  8. Jet – “Get Born”
  9. Etta James – “The Best of…”
  10. Matt Johnson – “Burning Blue Soul”

A victorious effort for the ladies it would seem.

Getting all Web 2.01, I’m launching a new angle: tell me (via Comments) the top 3 albums in the J category that I should own but don’t (and why).  Feel free to go back and comment on previous letters too (click on “Not a Review” under CATEGORIES to see my earlier lists).

I’ll shut out the Js with a clip of a single I do own (perhaps the sentiment is a promise re: this blog and it’s quality):

5 responses to “J = Just a sweet sixteen

  1. 3 J’s you need.

    Thriller – Michael Jackson. No record collection is complete without it. In fact I’d add Off The Wall in there too.

    Blueprint – Jay-Z. Ground breaking hip hop.

    Finally Woken – Jem. Simply Hypnotic.

  2. Yes! Michael Jackson – Thriller was the first thing that came to mind for me too. I’m actually quite shocked you don’t have any MJ in there at all! Especially since Thriller is the highest selling record ever. And so good!

    Jamiroquai – A Funk Odyssey also. Again they’ve got a few good albums out there. Am sure I could think of more too…

  3. Could it be true that there aren’t many good J albums around. Yes, the answer is yes. Without having ready access to my cd collection, I’d suggest that we’re talking slim pickings. I’ll let others argue the merits of the Jacksons (Tito, Michael, Jesse and Joe), the Joels (Billy and Bobby) and the Judds (Chris included). Although I will not forego one super big name in Elton John’s Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, which stands up pretty well. Delving into the nether regions, I’d perhaps opt for Tomorrow the Green Grass by the Jayhawks, Bellybutton by Jellyfish for the pure pop foolishness of it all and maybe Doubt by Jesus Jones, which is probably more a placemarker for a period of my life, but a nice one nonetheless.

  4. I will add Jefferson Airplane, Surrealistic Pillow. It’s obviously before your time Roo Boy and with your lack of appreciation for Pet Sounds, I’m not holding high hopes for you and this one. But still its a psychadelic classic and somebody to love and white rabbit are great songs.

  5. Thanks for the hot tips folks. All have been added to my shopping list for the next time I pop past our local second hand music store… look out for the reviews one day…

Leave a Reply

