Gig Review – Mudhoney

Attending my first gig in ages inspired me to blow the dust off the blog-machine…

Artist: Mudhoney
Venue: Corner Hotel, Richmond, Victoria, Australia
Date: Friday, 27 July, 2012
Who?: Seattle rockgods proving that age shall not tame.
Crowd?: The place was full of blokes of my vintage or older (i.e. into their 5th decade).  I think I may have spied one or two of the XX chromosomed gender, but it was mainly dudes relieving the joys of grunge.  This made for a chatter-lite night (as did the volume levels).  There was a fair preponderance of what I have tagged “nano moshing” – namely a barely discernible bounce on the heels and slight nodding of the head while not spilling any beer and definitely not bumping any of the other portly gentlemen in the vicinity. My sight lines were wonderfully devoid of raised “smart” phones.  We’re clearly old enough to remember actually watching a gig and recording it in our actual memory.
Best Bits: Mark Arm’s indestructible voice, that fantastic bass sound (from the Aussie no less) and the interplay with the lead guitar.  The memories of just how good grungy rock can be. “Touch me I’m sick”
Could be Better: I could be younger.  I could remember to bring earplugs
Dream Venue: The Punters Club, The Old Greek Theatre, The Evelyn before the refurb of the mid-90s
Dream Lineup: Taking a ‘stages of life’ view, perhaps The Stooges, The Datsuns and whatever young band is now rocking out in this fashion but whom I haven’t being paying enough attention to notice (they just don’t play them much on talk radio!)
Worth a Second Look?: Hell yeah.  Once my ears recover (and my liver). The band may now look like a quartet of dads from a Northcote primary school working bee, but they know how to construct a pure wall of sound.
Give us a look:

Back in the day

In 2010

3 responses to “Gig Review – Mudhoney

  1. Aaaaah, the Datsuns. You’ve made my music listening decision for me. Good to see the dust blown off.

  2. Well it’s about fucking time…

Leave a Reply

