Daily Archives: January 23, 2009

20 – Barenaked Ladies – “Disc One: All Their Greatest Hits”

Music is a very personal experience. Its all about the emotional connection you make with the song, the sound, the vibe. Often you assume (or hope) that others will embrace an act in the same way you do. It can disappoint (and bewilder) when they don’t. As the recipient of such heartfelt recommendations to check out some artist it can be difficult to explain why the tunes just don’t do it for you.

bnl-greatesthits199120011This album was a gift from a good mate who loves this Canadian outfit. He understandably thought they’d appeal to me, presumably because they are at the indie end of the rock spectrum and amusing/quirky in a They Might Be Giants-type way.

I have listened to this album quite a few times now and consider myself pretty au fait with their output. And unfortunately it just doesn’t gel for me. The musicianship is very competent, the songwriting pretty catchy, but I can’t get into it. I really dislike the singer’s voice (or is it his mannerisms?), and I find the sound way too clean. It reminds too much of Huey Lewis! Perhaps they do rock/endear live, but I’m not enthused… Sorry, mate.

File under: Good intentions to no avail.