Daily Archives: January 20, 2009

17. Various Artists – “A Boy, A Girl and a Rendez-vous”

So, I’ve finished the A Artists, and thought I’d chuck in a few compilations that might fit under the “A” Banner (based on title).

a-boy-a-girl-a-rendezvous1This is a very obscure (as in pretty unGoogle-able) release associated with some New Jersey fanzine of the late 20th century. I’m sure I bought it one bored day at my desk playing on Traffic Sounds, a favourite purveyor of twee-pop.

I no doubt had great intentions of discovering some wondrous new band that would change my world (this was before Myspace, so sampler CDs had more purpose). Of course, I then forgot all about it!

So, after listening to it much of today, has anything grabbed me? Not really.

The track from The Aislers Set bops along at a nice clip, while the gimmicky Zambonis amused the first time around (but ice hockey gags struggle to keep their lustre).

The rest of the compilation of is just too slow and wimpy to maintain my attention. You can hear one of the better slow ones here however (from French duo Watoo Watoo).

File under: Too twee for me

16. Various artists – “Amandla!”(soundtrack)

OK, so we’re 16 albums in and this is the third with a South African connection. I can explain. My interest in South African music stems from several sources: (i) I was moved by several novels books about SA as a teenager (Cry, The Beloved Country was one); (ii) I studied SA history one year at high school; (iii) I saw Paul Simon on his Graceland tour; and (iv) my wife was raised there and I have visited the beautiful land.

This album is the soundtrack to an amazing documentary Amandla soundtrackabout the role of music in the South African struggle against apartheid. I can highly recommend the film, and this album. It brings together a diverse and moving set of tracks from some of the big stars of the day – Hugh Masekela, Abdullah Ibrahim, Vusi Mahlasela and Mariam Makeba, as well as some choirs, and a few one hit wonders.

Some tracks are slow, building laments. Others rock along. A little gem is Meadlowlands – a be-bop tune about the clearing of a township. It reminds us that protest music doesn’t have to be aggressive, but can be subtle and a lot of fun.

This is a beautiful collection and wonderful historical document.

File under: Noble and gnarly